USA Shooting Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame History

The U.S. International Shooting Hall of Fame was established in 1991 by the NRA International Competitions Committee. Selection criteria was established that limited selection to those that had excelled in international competition over an extended period of time. There was also consideration given to those shooters in pre-1948 competitions and those who had served the U.S. Shooting Team in administrative or coaching positions. To be eligible the person must have been retired from active international shooting at least five years.

The first inductees were four USA shooters that had each won at least two individual Olympic Gold Medals. Inductees were honored at ceremonies hosted by the U.S. Shooting Team Foundation at the SHOT Show each January. USA Shooting took over the program in 1994. The name was changed in 1998 to the USA Shooting Hall of Fame and the induction ceremonies were moved to the USA Shooting National Championships. In 2004 the election was changed to Olympic years only. Nominations for the Hall of Fame can be submitted by any member of USA Shooting in writing to the CEO. Living USA Shooting Hall of Fame members and the USA Shooting Board of Directors vote on the selections.